DownloadDownload this document as PDF.
deutsch | english | français

Biography

German pianist Frank Dupree recently came to international attention as the laureate prize winner of the 2014 Deutscher Musikwettbewerb, captivating the judges with his musical maturity, refined technique and ability to draw a wide spectrum of sound and colour from the keyboard. Emanuel Ax has remarked that he is a ‘sincere, feeling, and enormously interesting artist, whom no doubt will be a major presence amongst the leading musicians of his generation’.

Initially trained as a jazz percussionist, Frank celebrates the breadth and depth of the piano repertoire, with a particular enthusiasm for the music of the 20th century as well as the music of living composers, having already been chosen to work closely with Péter Eötvös (Erdenklavier – Himmelklavier, world premiere recording in 2015 for the GENUIN classics label) and Wolfgang Rihm (Con Piano? Certo!, world premiere performance with conductor Justin Brown and the Badische Staatskapelle Karlsruhe in June 2015).

Frank commences his 2017/2018 season with his UK debut, performing Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Carlos Miguel Prieto conducting. The season will also mark his third and final season as artist-in-residence of the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, where he has curated a cycle of creative concert programmes, play/directing all five Beethoven concerti in the process. Other season highlights include concerts at London's Wigmore Hall, Brussels BOZAR, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, Saffron Hall, Bristol Colston Hall, Baden Baden Festspielhaus, Ravenna's Teatro Alighieri, and with the Staatskapelle Weimar, Essen Philharmonic, Stuttgart Philharmonic (play/direct), Duisburg Philharmonic, and the Wrocław Philharmonic.

An artist who is quickly establishing himself within the international orchestral circuit, Frank has previously performed with the Orchestre de Chambre de Paris (play/direct), Minnesota Orchestra, Malmö Symphony, Kristiansand Symphony, Auckland Philharmonia, Beethoven Orchester Bonn, Bern Symphony, Duisburg Philharmonic, and the Orchester Musikkollegium Winterthur. Recitals and chamber music also play an important role in Frank's musical ethos, and he has frequently collaborated with other rising stars of his generation (Simon Höfele, Edgar Moreau, Daniel Lozakovich, Kian Soltani, Timothy Ridout, and the Goldmund Quartet), giving concerts at such places as the Auditorium du Louvre in Paris, Berlin Konzerthaus, Verbier Festival, Septembre Musical in Montreux, Davos Festival, Heidelberg Spring Festival, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, and in numerous other venues across Germany.

Combining his fine musicianship with the art of direction, Frank was awarded first prize at the 2012 International Hans-von-Bülow Competition in Meiningen for his play/direct work with Beethoven, and was soon after invited to take part in the Orchestre de Chambre de Paris Play-Direct Academy with Joseph Swensen, Stephen Kovacevich, and François Leleux. On the podium, Frank has previously assisted Sir Simon Rattle, François-Xavier Roth, and Mario Venzago.

Born in 1991 in Rastatt, Frank has been a student of Sontraud Speidel since the age of five. He is currently continuing his studies with her as part of a Master of Music degree at the Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe. Over the years, he has played in masterclasses with Emanuel Ax, Ralf Gothóni, Klaus Hellwig, Alexander Braginsky, Cyprien Katsaris, Ferenc Rados, Gábor Takács-Nagy, and Stephen Kovacevich. In Summer 2013, Frank was awarded the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes scholarship and in 2014, was the receipient of the Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben scholarship in support of his studies.

DownloadLaden Sie sich die Biografie als PDF herunter.
deutsch | english | français

Biografie

Der deutsche Pianist Frank Dupree sorgte international für Aufsehen, als er 2014 zum einzigen Preisträger des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs gekürt wurde. Mit seiner musikalischen Reife, seiner ausgefeilten Technik und seiner Fähigkeit, dem Flügel ein breites Spektrum an Klangfarben zu entlocken, faszinierte er die Jury. Pianisten-Legende Emanuel Ax beschreibt ihn als einen „außergewöhnlichen, empfindsamen und enorm interessanten Künstler, der ohne Zweifel eine bedeutende Rolle bei den führenden Musikern seiner Generation spielen wird.“

Zunächst wurde Frank Dupree als Jazz-Schlagzeuger ausgebildet, um sich später voll und ganz dem klassischen Klavierrepertoire zuzuwenden. Seither widmet er sich mit großer Begeisterung auch der Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie den Werken zeitgenössischer Komponisten. So verbindet ihn eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Péter Eötvös (Erdenklavier – Himmelklavier, Weltersteinspielung im Jahr 2015 beim Label GENUIN classics) und Wolfgang Rihm (Con Piano? Certo!, Uraufführung mit GMD Justin Brown und der Badischen Staatskapelle Karlsruhe im Juni 2015).

Zu Beginn der Saison 2017/2018 gab Frank Dupree sein Debüt in Großbritannien mit Beethovens Klavierkonzert Nr. 3 in c-Moll und dem London Philharmonic Orchestra unter der Leitung von Carlos Miguel Prieto. Als ehemaliger Artist-in-Residence der Deutschen Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz führt Frank auch in dieser Saison seine eigens initiierte Konzertreihe Connect it! fort und gestaltet kreative, stilübergreifende Konzertprogramme, in denen er Klassik und Jazz miteinander kombiniert und alle Beethoven Klavierkonzert vom Klavier aus selbst dirigiert. Weitere Highlights dieser Saison sind Konzerte in der Londoner Wigmore Hall, im Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, in der Saffron Hall, im BOZAR in Brüssel, im Baden-Badener Festspielhaus, im Teatro Alighieri Revenna und Konzerte mit den Essener Philharmonikern, den Stuttgarter Philharmonikern (play/direct), den Duisburger Philharmonikern und dem Philharmonie Orchester Breslau.

Als Künstler, der sich schnell in der internationalen Orchesterlandschaft als Solist etabliert hat, trat Frank Dupree mit dem Orchestre de Chambre de Paris (play/direct), dem Minnesota Symphony Orchestra, dem Malmö SymfoniOrkester, dem Kristiansand Symfoniorkester, dem Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, dem Beethoven Orchester Bonn, der Weimarer Staatskapelle, dem Berner Symphonieorchester und dem Musikkollegium Winterthur auf. Sowohl Klavierrezitals als auch Kammermusik spielen in Franks musikalischem Schaffen eine große Rolle. So musizierte er gemeinsam mit den führenden Künstlern seiner Generation (Simon Höfele, Edgar Moreau, Daniel Lozakovich, Kian Soltani, Timothy Ridout und das Goldmund Quartett) und gab Konzerte im Auditorium du Louvre Paris, im Konzerthaus Berlin, beim Verbier Festival, beim Septembre Musical Montreux, beim Davos Festival, bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, beim Heidelberger Frühling, bei den Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele sowie in vielen anderen Städten in ganz Deutschland.

Vom Klavier aus zu dirigieren, ist Franks besondere Leidenschaft. 2012 wurde er für seine Beethoven-Interpretation als Pianist und Dirigent mit dem 1. Preis beim Internationalen Hans-von-Bülow Wettbewerb in Meiningen ausgezeichnet. Kurz darauf wurde er eingeladen, bei der Play-Direct-Academy des Orchestre de Chambre de Paris mit Joseph Swensen, Stephen Kovacevich und François Leleux teilzunehmen. Als Dirigent assistierte er Sir Simon Rattle, François-Xavier Roth und Mario Venzago. 

1991 in Rastatt geboren, wird Frank Dupree seit seinem sechsten Lebensjahr von Prof. Sontraud Speidel unterrichtet und gefördert. 2017/2018 setzt Frank Dupree sein Studium an der Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe im Master-Studiengang Klavier fort. Wichtige Impulse gaben ihm Meisterkurse bei Emanuel Ax, Ralf Gothóni, Klaus Hellwig, Alexander Braginsky, Cyprien Katsaris, Ferenc Rados, Gábor Takács-Nagy, Stephen Kovacevich und Menahem Pressler. Er ist Carl-Heinz Illies-Stipendiat der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben und seit dem Sommersemester 2013 Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes. Seit Juli 2016 ist Frank Dupree offizieller Steinway-Künstler.